St. Louis, MO
The Admiral was built at St. Louis by Streckfus Steamers Inc. in 1938 - 1940 as a sidewheel excursion boat. Her hull came from the former railroad transfer Albatross built in 1907. She is 374 feet long and 92 feet wide and had a capacity for 4,400 passengers. In the winter of 1973 - 1974 she was converted to diesel-props, one in each paddlebox.
The Admiral was and still is a unique boat because of her size and because of her art deco streamlining. She was the first steamboat on the Mississippi river which was fully air-conditioned.
She served as an excursion boat until 1979. She was sold several times and has been serving as a floating casino above Eads Bridge in St. Louis, MO. In 2011, the Admiral eventually went out of service and has been removed from the St. Louis riverfront on July 19, 2011, apparently to be towed to a scrap yard.
Steamboats.org recommends ...|
For river cruises, train journeys and other leisure travel, domestic or international, contact our favorite travel agent, Phyllis Dale. She has the experience you need when planning a vacation.
Note: Phyllis does not book day excursions.