Message Boards

Message Boards (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/)
-   Steamboats & History (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/steamboats-history/)
-   -   Gourmet Food (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/steamboats-history/724-gourmet-food.html)

Alan Bates 11-18-2006 05:43 AM

Gourmet Food

Lexie's remark about towboat food brought on this tirade.
I was reared on plain food, fully cooked meats, boiled vegetables, home-made bread, etc. When I made my one and only trip on the Delta Queen as a guest lecturer, I was obliged to eat with the passengers. There were plates on top of plates and an annoying array of silverware that was snatched away before the meal was served. The food was good, not exceptional, excepting for the green beans. I still wonder who dyes them that bilious green, that horrible too-green green. The flavor was that of evergreen wood, perhaps larch. The texture was poly-whatever rope.
Not being inclined to bite the hand that was feeding me, I complained only to my granddaughter, who had made friends with everyone aboard including the cook. The next evening there was a huge pile of fully cooked green beans on my plate, boiled in the juice of a ham hock. The rest of the people at our table looked on with envy as they chewed on their bright green manila ropes disguised as beans.

Tom Schiffer 11-18-2006 07:26 AM

Yep, and guess which mess of beans the crew was eatin'!? And I fully understand how Vicky got it done as she worked her charm on the crew of MISSIE last fall.

Edward Ray 11-18-2006 11:10 AM

Allan

All I can say is "Amen" everyone know that your have to cook the "green" out of Green Beans and that have to have some seasoning such as "han hocks" "pock chops" "thick bacon" or plain old meat drippings. But then what do I know but I do know that a riverboat cook would be put off at the next landing, for offering "green manila rope" as beans to the crew.
Ed Ray
Dublin, Ohio

Lexie Palmore 11-18-2006 12:20 PM