Message Boards

Message Boards (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/)
-   Steamboats & History (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/steamboats-history/)
-   -   model builder needs info (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/steamboats-history/5489-model-builder-needs-info.html)

Mike Woodyard 01-11-2016 03:25 PM

model builder needs info

Hello everyone. Im a model builder that has a passion for steamboats. My new project is of the sternwheel towboat Marion built in 1895 for the US engineers for upper Miss channel maintanence. My question is when dimensions are given for sternwheelers is it the size of the hull only or does that include the wheel also. Any info or pics of this boat would be a great help.

Bob Reynolds 01-11-2016 04:43 PM

Hi, Mike. Generally, the hull size given in documentation is for the hull only, not including the wheel. To further complicate matters, any "guard" or overhang of the main deck wider than the hull is also not reflected in this documented width.

John Fryant, model builder extraordinaire, is a sometime poster to this board and may have some tips for you. I also highly recommend the "Steamboat Cyclopaedium" by Alan Bates, possibly available from Howard Steamboat Museum at Jeffersonville, IN. John Fryant also authors a quarterly column in the S&D REFLECTOR entitled "Small Stacks", devoted to steamboat model building. Good luck!

Mike Woodyard 01-11-2016 08:19 PM

Thank you for the info Bob. Could anyone tell me if the Marion is in Ways towboat directory?

R. Dale Flick 01-12-2016 07:37 AM

*RE: Str. MARION of 1895/Model building*
Morning, Mike and Steamboating colleagues,
Yes, indeed your MARION of 1895 appears in WAY'S STEAMBOAT DIRECTORY.' Pg. 156 of his directory list three vessels named MARION [One the MARION S.].

Your MARION of 1895 has a short, concise entry on Pg. 156, Entry No. T1722: