Message Boards

Message Boards (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/)
-   Steamboats & History (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/steamboats-history/)
-   -   J. Franklin Brown (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/steamboats-history/3745-j-franklin-brown.html)

Dean Tuggle 08-21-2010 11:53 AM

J. Franklin Brown

Please pardon me if I do things incorrectly. I am new to this message board. I came upon Steamboats.org in pursuit of a means of marketing 3 charcoal sketches that I own done by J. Franklin Brown. They are of Louisville & Cincinnati/City of Louisville (dated 1968); Joe F? (dated 1968); and Robert E. Lee (dated 1969). All are framed and signed by J. Franklin Brown. I know there is some discussion of his cronies signing his art work; however, I have carefully examined all signatures, and they are all identical. This leads me to believe that they are all signed by the artist, himself.

I purchased them at an auction in Madison, IN, but they just don't work into our existing home/B&B. They are all for sale for $200 each, or $500 for all 3 prints. They can be viewed here in Aurora, IN.

Thank you for your patience with this new posting.

Shipyard Sam 09-07-2010 12:48 PM

Duke See de Money Pile ... Duke Gets Glad...

Are these the originals or the print reproduction? In other words, would they smudge if rubbed? Mine won't, so mine are the oft-reproduced reproduction prints. JFB's charming steamboat prints were reproduced in quantity, but even so, the repros commanded a hefty price (if they could get it) of about 15-25 skins apiece, maybe 10 15 years ago. If the reproductions are commanding the kind'a bucks you're saying- then I'm sitting on a money pile.

Comment?

Tom Adams 08-30-2011 11:58 AM

sketch of Joe Fowler steamboat