Message Boards

Message Boards (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/)
-   Steamboats & History (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/steamboats-history/)
-   -   Sunken sternwheeler on ebay (http://www.steamboats.org/forum/steamboats-history/1605-sunken-sternwheeler-ebay.html)

Jim Herron 07-24-2007 06:27 AM

Sunken sternwheeler on ebay

There is a sunken sternwheeler for sale on ebay. The boat's name is "Leland Davis" and it has been partially underwater for about a year and a half. It is 100 ft long. They say it is a Bayer Island boat dating from 1982. The location is Winchester, KY. Does anyone know anything about this boat?
Just curious. I'm not a prospective bidder on this.
-Jim Herron

Here's a link to the sales page:
[url]http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/1982-BAYER-ISLAND-100FT-HOUSEBOAT-RIVERBOAT-PADDLEBOAT_W0QQitemZ180141537251QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item180141537251[/url]

Steve Huffman 07-24-2007 07:33 AM

I received an email from the owner of this boat early last year, when he was looking for ideas on raising it. The boat was home-built, and the hull was originally 3 separate steel "pontoons". Later steel plating was installed between the 'toons to make it one hull. This may have been done at Tucker Marine.

Since there is no way to get an A-frame or crane barge to the boat's location, the prospects for saving it are probably slim. Bill Judd could tell you a lot more about this boat.

Steve Huffman 07-24-2007 07:44 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Attached is more info on this boat...

Jim Herron 07-24-2007 08:05 PM

Thanks Steve,
This is an interesting boat. Too bad she's had such an unlucky fate. There are 8 bids with the current high bid at $ 318.00 for her. But then, that's just the beginning of expenses for the buyer (if they agree to sell at such a price). Over 6 days to go before the auction closes. They have it listed as a houseboat.
-JH

David Dewey 07-24-2007 08:56 PM