Steamboats.org Homepage  
  not logged in.
           forgot password?

Hello from New Member

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 11-22-2007, 03:06 AM

Default Hello from New Member

I am new here. I have been perusing the forum regularly for a few news now, but this is my first post. I am a writer (books, magazine articles, news, etc.) but my real job is teaching school. I am a lifelong fan of the Delta Queen. Here is my "Delta Queen story."

I first "met" her in 1973, when I was a youngster growing up on the Tennessee River / Kentucky Lake (mile 86). It was about 11:30 PM when a horrible storm came out of nowere, blowing our front patio furniture everywhere and blowing one of our living room picture windows completely out. No storms had been in the forecast.

My father and I stood behind a storm window and watched as a gigantic vessel slowly came into sight, tossing, turning and ploughing its way to the north. There wasn't anywhere to moor, so I guess that's why the vessel kept sailing. It was unlike the barges and towboats that frequently passed the house; this boat was huge -- the biggest I had ever seen. Despite its great size, it rocked and rolled on the rough water, twice getting blown sideways where the bow was headed east (toward the shore) instead of north. To visualize, imagine the helplessness a styrofoam cup floating on a whitewater rafting stream!

But despite the obvious, I never sensed that the boat was in any danger; whenever the weather dealt a severe blow (no pun intended), the boat's captain seemingly dealt an opposing blow with even greater force! My father remarked several times, "I know this river, and I know boats; and whoever is at the wheel of THAT boat has got to be the most capable captain I've ever seen. That man knows what he's doing and he's a pro."